First night away from my little prince

Poop update: We have moved to Gerber Gentle formula and Turner’s poop schedule has finally started to get back to normal and he is spitting up less. Tomorrow’s blog it going to be about different formulas and how I feel about the entire ordeal. 

For Andrew’s birthday this past weekend, we drive down to Atlanta to go to a Braves game. Since Turner was born, this was mine and Andrew’s second Braves game, but this time we stayed over night in Atlanta. From the time we dropped him off with Andrew’s momma until we picked him up, I was away from his for a little more than 23 hours. My first night away from him. His first night away from me.  

I know that I cannot smother Turner forever, despite the overbearing urge that I have to do so. So I reluctantly agreed to the overnight trip… even though it was my own fault for getting Andrew the tickets in the first place. It was not as bad as I had anticipated. Debbie sent us updates often, which helped a lot. And Andrew’s sister Kayla sent us lots of pictures, which also made it easier. I kept it together pretty well, until we were back in our hotel and it was time for bed. 

Image

 I cried myself to sleep. It was the first night that I had gone to sleep not holding Turner. I know I shouldn’t be holding him anyway and that it is spoiling him… but really it is spoiling me more than it is him. I lost it. I know Andrew thought I was crazy, but I cried like a little girl. I just am not supposed to go to sleep unless I am holding him. It is against the rules. It is not normal, and it broke my heart. 

Turner wakes up on the dot at 3:30 a.m. every morning. So since I couldn’t really sleep because I missed him so much, I woke up at 2 a.m. and sent Debbie a text to let her know that he would be getting up soon. A little obsessive, I know… but he is my baby and I just cannot help it. 

I woke up at 6 a.m. ready to leave the hotel and get back to my baby. Since it was Andrew’s birthday, I let him sleep until about 8, but then insisted we hurried home, and missing Turner as much as me, we did just that. 

We met Debbie at her church to pick Turner up. The church is about a mile from our house and the second we got in our driveway I pulled Turner outta that carseat so dang fast and squeezed him right up. I think it will be a while before I leave him for that long again. It just is NOT worth it! 

Leave a Reply

