Turner has officially picked sides….and I lost!

Turner will be four months old on the 30th and he has already picked out his favorite parent…. and it aint me! Now, I may sound a little bitter about this, but I am not. I am actually really happy. This weekend it was very obvious that Turner had picked his favorite parent. The absolute admiration and obsession he has with his dad is heartwarming.

Andrew travels a lot for work. He just got back from a two week trip up north and out in California, so Andrew and I both were worried that Turner would be impacted by Andrew being gone so much. And boy let me tell you, he was impacted… he proved that absence makes the heart grow fonder! All weekend long, anywhere Andrew went in the house or anywhere, Turner about broke his neck to find him. And if Andrew would just look in Turner’s general direction Turner would smile and just not stop. It was pure infatuation. If I was holding Turner and talking to him, he would about break his neck to turn and find his dad. It was like I was invisible! When Andrew was holding Turner, Turner would glance at me and shoot me a smile, then immediately look back at his dad with the sweetest adoring glare.

Throughout the night, I am very careful to more and disturb Turner as little as possible, so when he does wake up for a feeding, he is still half asleep because it makes it so much easier to get him back to sleep. About every night Turner wakes up every hour or hour and a half. I feed him and do whatever else it takes to get him back to sleep. He wakes up around 6 in the morning and typically I can get him to go back to sleep at least until the sun comes up a little after 7 am. Well not this morning. Andrew happened to wake up with us this morning and the second Turner laid eyes on his dad…. it was instant romper room in our house. Turner was half asleep as I was giving him his bottle, then Andrew came into Turner’s vision, his eyes got bright eyed and he began to smile, and it was time to wake up for the day. He wanted play time with his dad. Andrew got up with him, played with him for a bit then rocked him back to sleep for about another hour. But just to see the pure joy and happiness that comes across Turner’s face when he sees his dad, is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen.

Image

I don’t blame Turner one bit either. Andrew is such an incredible father. Don’t get me wrong, I never had any doubts, but just too see Andrew every day with Turner, I fall in love with both of them over and over again. When Andrew is home, I do not change a single diaper. Not because I refuse, but as soon as it needs to be done, Andrew grabs him up and does it, I don’t even have to ask him. He always volunteers for bath time or to rock Turner when he is being fussy. And when he isn’t doing that, he takes care of the dogs when I forget and will wash the dishes or Turner’s laundry before I even realize it needs to be done. He is a Godsend. I couldn’t have hoped for anything better. I have hit the jackpot with Andrew. He is the most incredible father, friend, partner, and every other roll he takes on. No wonder Turner picked him as his favorite, he is my favorite too!

This weekend was a weekend of firsts for us. Turner went to his first wedding, and completely stole the show in his baby tie and vest. I have always said that girl clothing is more fun and so much cuter than boys, but this weekend Turner was styling! Between a wedding shower we went to on Friday for a friend and then the wedding for other friends on Saturday, Turner was basically a baby model. I know I am biased, because obviously I think my son is the bees knees, but I don’t think many others would deny how perfect he is either.

We got to see Turner roll over for the first time this weekend. By roll over I mean all the way from flat on his back to flat on his belly. He has rolled from his belly to his back for a while now, and has been able to roll from his back to all the way over other than an arm too, but this weekend, he was on his play mat and one second he was on his back and the next was full on tummy time. It took him a few times to really get the hang of it, but now he goes back and forth and loves it!

Another first this weekend is my favorite to date. Turner laughed! I mean full on chuckled and didn’t stop for a solid 15 minutes. In the past, when he has smiled he lets out a little puff of air that kind of sounds like a laugh, but yesterday, out of no where, I was playing peek-a-boo with him and he just started laughing like it was the funniest thing he had ever done. I was in tears. There is nothing sweeter than the sound of a baby’s laugh. I just could hardly handle the cuteness and perfection of that sound and the look on his face. It was the most beautiful, perfect sound I have ever heard. Even better than his first cry right after delivery. He laughed for a good 15 minutes, then I couldn’t get him to do it anymore, but for that short time, I have never been happier!

Another first for Turner, the Atlanta Braves clinched the NL East Division, the first time since 2005. Andrew and I are pretty significant Braves fans… I mean our son’s name is Turner… so we of course had to celebrate Turner’s first Braves Championship!

Check out my Facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/pages/Adventuring-into-Motherhood-Blog/621560274545609

Leave a Reply

