Turner’s 4 month checkup and a little stranger danger

Poor Turner had to go in for his four-month checkup today, which means he got more shots. These did not go as well as his first round, he was NOT a happy camper. Poor guy was so upset after them. But after about 10 min he cried himself to sleep and will be spending the rest of the day with his daddy. 

Image

The doctor said Turner’s development is above average and that he is doing things that they look for a 6 month old baby to be doing. He stands up on his own when holding on to the table and sits up for more than 10 seconds without help, not to mention he rolls from side to side even when you try to stop him, which makes diaper changing a challenge these days!

Image

Turner falls in the 77 percentile for his weight and the 56 percentile for his height. While Andrew is a very large man, I am 5 foot 2, so we never expected Turner to be that tall. I almost feel bad, ya know? That my genetically tiny height will basically ensure Turner will never be a basketball star.

The doctor addressed Turner’s constant spitting/throwing up. He gave him another medicine (since no pharmacy could find the last kind they gave him). Hopefully it will help. Luckily, he is growing great and the throwing up doesn’t seem to bother him too much, so right now, there is not too much to worry about. 

Unfortunately, the doctor said he cannot help us with Turner’s lack of interest in sleeping….ever. His only advice was not to feed him every hour when he wakes up during the night, and let him cry it out to break him of the habit of needing us so much. It is just so much easier said then done. I would rather be half asleep for the 30 minute ordeal every hour, then be up for hours listening to the poor thing cry just because he wants his mom to hold him. It just seems cruel. While I have no problem with Turner being, 1, 3, 5, or 16 and wanting to cuddle up with me and Andrew, our doctor ensures us we will regret it before long. I have to admit, a few nights of listening to him cry to let him get used to it may be better than to keep working on three hours of good sleep and waking up every hour. We will see how it goes.

So work was too busy for me to post yesterday, sorry about that. But what I had planned to write about yesterday was how weird I find it that complete strangers always want to know about my baby. I would consider myself an introvert. I don’t like crowds, I don’t like strangers, and I certainly don’t like talking to people. But anytime I go anywhere with Turner, EVERYONE asks me 100 questions about him. They want to know if its a boy or a girl (he is in a football onesie…DUH lady!), how old he is, what his name is, if he sleeps (why is that your business) and basically everything short of his social security number. I just don’t get the infatuation. Pre-being a mom and even know, I have never once had a desire to slow down in the aisle at the grocery store, stand on my tip toes and smile and look into the carseat to see someone else’s baby. Is there something wrong with me? Should I be interested in everyone else’s children too? Is it part of being in the mommy club?

I feel rude all the time because I will have complete strangers who have their children with them stop me to look and ask questions about Turner like he is a zoo animal on display, yet I do nothing to ask about their children… I mean, I don’t really care. Don’t get me wrong, its different when I know the person. Yes, if I know and you have a baby or a grandbaby and want to talk about them, I can relate to you… but no crazy lady in the produce aisle… I don’t get why you need to stop me to smile at my son. I just don’t get it, and to be honest, I find it a little creepy. I have considered getting those full carseat covers so no one can look at him.

 And as I am writing this, I am realizing I am sounding a little hypocritical because here I am complaining about complete strangers asking me about my son… while I am writing to a world of people I will never meet and post pictures of him all the time… I guess that goes back to me being an introvert. I can write about it because I am sitting at a computer and not having to have any one-on-one reaction.

 I take Turner to work with me sometimes. Last Friday I took him to an event, and anytime he goes with me, he is always a big hit. I mean, even though I am biased… Turner is a really cute kid, and always happy and interested in everyone, so he draws a lot of attention. But last week this complete stranger came up to me while I was taking pictures while wearing turner and told me that if I got tired she would be happy to take him off my hands…. um STRANGER DANGER! I know people are just being nice, and the small southern community I live in, chances are, even if I do not know someone personally, they either know me through my work in the newspaper, or even may know Andrew or his family. I have had lots of people I don’t know tell me they have seen Turner’s pictures on Facebook and think he is the best, and I agree…but it still catches me a little off guard.

 Older people are the worst about it. I love elderly people, they are so dang cute. And they are first in line to stop me anywhere I am and ask to see Turner. Many reach out and touch him. I just think thats a line that shouldn’t be crossed… maybe I am the weirdo and should be nicer and be flattered that strangers want to admire my perfect little prince. I don’t know.  

2 thoughts on “Turner’s 4 month checkup and a little stranger danger

Leave a Reply

