We have a sleeping baby!

Andrew and I were woken up by the phone ringing this morning at 7:36. I am not telling you all this because of the importance of the phone call, but rather to point out that we were not woken up by Turner crying, this my friends, is a first.

I know it has been a while since I have posted, but lets be honest, as a full time mom with a full time job, my time is limited.

For the last few nights Turner has slept great. I am no longer co-sleeping with him. We moved his playpen into the living room and that is where he sleeps. For the last few nights he has only woken up once to eat, and that wasn’t until 4 or 5 a.m. Because he isn’t waking up and taking a bottle three times a night, he is staying dryer, also preventing him to wake up mad because he is wet. It is a beautiful, beautiful thing.

Last night he woke up at 4 a.m., I got up and fed him him then rocked him back to sleep. Then, for the first time, instead of him waking up around 6:30 a.m. crying for someone to pick him up, whenever he woke up, he just kept himself occupied. He didn’t cry, he didn’t grumble, he was content. When I woke up and answered the phone, I looked in the playpen, and there was turner, just on his tummy smiling at us as if was the most normal thing in the world.

It was remarkable. If you have read my blog in the past, you know that the hardest thing to date about being a new mom is figuring out sleeping. So to be able to put Turner down at 9 p.m. and have him stay there content until 4 or 5 a.m. is basically nothing short of a miracle. This has only been going on the last few days, and I pray it continues, but even if it doesn’t the few days of relief and a little extra sleep has honestly been life changing! 

Image

Other new things with Turner. He is really starting to love baby food. It is so cute to see him open his mouth and ask for more. We have also given him carrot and celery sticks, which he loves because it feels good on his gums because he is started to have some irritation there.

 He is basically a grown up. Andrew talks about how Turner isn’t a sweet baby anymore, but instead he is a serious little boy, its so true. We might as well start collecting college applications because he has grown up so much in the last few days that I feel like he is ready to leave me. I know it sounds silly and everyone says it, but they say it because it is true, they really do grow up so fast.  

2 thoughts on “We have a sleeping baby!

Leave a Reply

