Ready for a little bit of growing up

I am so obsessed with Turner. I have said it before, but it may be the “new mom” feeling, but I would go to the end of the moon and back for that little boy. He completely consumes my heart. There isn’t a thing in this world that I wouldn’t gladly do for him in a moments notice. I think he is absolutely perfect in every single way.

With that being said, while I already think he has grown up too fast, there are a few things that I wish he would hurry up and get the hang of. For example… he is more than welcomed to start holding his bottle on his own. Any day now, I sure would appreciate it. He tries really hard, but just cannot get the hang of of it.

 Turner has been able to sit up on his own since he was three months old. He is much more stable now and sits up straight for hours on end, but I have to prop him up to make it happen. He hasn’t quite mastered being able to get to a sitting position on his own. I am also ready for him to do that too.

One thing that Turner recently has been able to do, that I am so proud of, is put himself to sleep. It was a big deal when he started to sleep on his own, and he has been doing a great job of it night after night. I was happy with that, but when I was able to lay him in his bed with a toy and realized that in a matter of minutes he had fallen asleep on his own, without needing to be rocked. That was monumental! Then another night after he had gotten up to eat around 3 a.m., I put him back to bed even though he was not asleep, and instead of being rocked, he went to sleep on his own. This may seem silly and normal for most babies, but not for mine. Not for mine at all. I could have turned cartwheels I was so excited!

Another thing that I am ready for him to grow out of is his utter hatred of the carseat. I don’t know if other parents have experiences the same thing, but Turner screams at the top of his lungs when he is placed in his carseat, at least nine times out of 10. I mean pitches a fit like someone was beating him. It almost never fails. I don’t know why, but he does. So any day now, when he is ready to get used to it, I am ready for him.

Everything else can stay the same. I am not ready for him to crawl or walk or talk or anything. I want him to continuing being my perfect almost six month old.  

Leave a Reply

