Making memories this Christmas

A small idea I had last year made me so thankful this Christmas. I don’t know where I saw it, I am sure it was on Facebook, or Pintrest or someone else’s blog, but when we were decorating the Christmas tree last night, an ornament in the very bottom of the bin made me so happy. 

Image

When we took down last year’s Christmas tree, before tossing it in the trash, I had Andrew saw off the bottom of the tree, so the following year (this year) I could turn it into an ornament. I had completely forgotten about it, but after all the other ornaments were hung, the piece of wood reminded me of last year and mine and Andrew’s first Christmas together. I was so excited to remember last year and so happy I thought to save that piece of the tree. 

This year, I plan to save the bottom of the tree again so we will have a piece of the first tree Turner ever had. I have debated about if I want to do it every year. If we did it each year, and write a special memory on each ornament, eventually, years done the road, we will have enough for the entire tree to be decorated with nothing but memories from past Christmases. I think I like the idea. It was something so simple, and didn’t cost a dime. 

Turner didn’t have any great reaction when we turned the lights on for the first time, but he does like to look at them. I can only imagine how difficult it is going to be next year when we he is crawling around and getting into everything! 

Image

2 thoughts on “Making memories this Christmas

  1. Love the Christmas tree stem ornament idea! I am going to share with my brother.
    And, correction for your text, ” I can only imagine how difficult it is going to be next year when we he is crawling ***WALKING** around and getting into everything! ” hehehe

Leave a Reply

