Finding a way to sleep soon is a must

I understand I have been neglecting my blog, blame it on the move, the new job, the holidays, whichever you need to, but really all apply.

So, while this seems to be a reoccurring theme on my blog, here is yet another post about my complete lack of sleep and how it is driving me crazy. With the new job, came new work hours. We are getting up an hour earlier, and it has thrown Turner for a loop. Right when he got used to sleeping in the new house, I changed his routine, and so now he has released the demons on me and is completely preventing me from sleeping longer than 30 minutes at a time.

To be fair, I sleep great from 9 until midnight. But I hate that I am having to go to sleep at 9, miss time with Turner and Andrew, just to get any form of solid sleep, but its my only option as of late. Take last night for example, because our schedules are a bit shifted, we couldn’t keep Turner up later than 8:30 p.m. despite our efforts. Even before putting him down for the night, Andrew warned what trouble that would bring me in the night, and that is exactly what it did.

I slept until about 11 p.m., then every 30 to 45 minutes I was up with Turner. Only twice to actually feed him, one of which was paired with a  diaper change, which usually never happens, but I am assuming the time shift is not just messing with Turner’s sleep schedule. After a diaper change, a feeding, and then restless laying in bed for what seemed like hours on end trying to solve world hunger in my head, I was able to get to sleep for what amounted to a whopping 30 minute sprint before Turner woke me up.

Andrew conveniently sleeps through it all (or at least acts like he does). And when I was complaining about it this morning, his solution was for me just to sleep through it as well, which is nothing short of wishful thinking. If Turner so much as rolls over in the other room it seems to wake me up. Sometimes I stay in bed, hoping he will figure out whatever it is that woke him up, fix his blanket or find his pacifier, then go back to sleep. But after so much time and being completely woken up instead of being able to remain in a zombie like sleep state, I reluctantly crawl out of bed and go to Turner’s room. Generally my nightly visits are nothing more than finding his pacifier for him or cranking up the mobile. While these minute or less visits are simple, having the occur every 30 minutes has been excruciating. Every once of my being wants to down some Nyquil and call it a night, but I know that is just not an option. But I have to sleep.

I am sure this first week on the job I have seemed so out of it, but I just can’t help it. Its hard to fake being alert. Coffee has seemingly replaced the blood in my veins and I have drank so much caffeine, I may be able to see electricity, but the connections in my brains are just too tired to make any sense.

Someone come make him sleep. Or convince me its ok to spike his bottle with a good old fashion drop or two of whiskey ( I am only joking.. at least for another day or so…). I welcome any and all advice. I even tried bringing him to bed with me and Andrew, but by 3 a.m. he had already woken up five times. I am at the end of my rope and am far too tired to hold on much longer.

5 thoughts on “Finding a way to sleep soon is a must

  1. Didn’t you say he couldn’t sleep without the tv. Maybe he is missing the noise. Just a thought. Maybe some background noise, music, etc.

  2. Tabs has been going through this for the past five weeks or so. Waking and crying every 45min or hour after falling asleep. Only the last 3 nights she hasn’t woken up as much.. I mean still asleep at 10pm after going down at 6:30. I have no idea what prompted this change. Before she would not even make it asleep to 7:30pm.
    Swaddling has helped some (though she was still waking then too). If he is eating solids maybe try hard boiled egg yolk mixed with a fruit. Fill him up.
    Also his bed time might be too late? Have you tried putting him down before 7pm?
    I hope you sleep soon… the deprivation is misery.

    • He takes a 6 oclock nap every day like clock work, if we try to skip it, the rest of the night is awful. I want to try to blame it on teething keeping him up, but that’s just an excuse. He doesn’t need much when he wakes up, just a rub on the back, his pacfi, and about once a night rocking and a half a bottle. When I left for work this morning, he was still asleep, which never happens because he wakes up at 6 am every morning. There is no rhyme or reason to his madness!

Leave a Reply

