My child may or may not be possessed.

This weekend we had a couple of firsts. Some good, some terrifying. We can start with the good. 

On Friday, when I got home from work and got to scoop my baby up for this first time in what seemed like an eternity, he hugged me. He crawled over to me, pulled himself up on me put one arm on each my my shoulders, put his head on my chest, and squeezed. It was without a doubt, one of the best moments in my life. It was the first time my sweet little ball of perfection actually hugged me. I mean, he puts his head on my neck when I am holding him all the time, but thats not a hug. This was a real, honest to goodness, make your heart melt hug. And it was perfect. 

Image

I squeezed his little body then when I let go and looked at him, he had the biggest smile on his face. Then he lunged his body toward mine again and gave me another hug. It was complete perfection. Andrew thinks I am crazy, that this isn’t something to celebrate or something to write about. But you would have just had to be there. It was the sweetest, most perfect, best thing I could have ever asked for. 

 Now, with that bit of praise being said. Let me tell you how also a first this weekend, Turner scared the living daylights out of me. Turner doesn’t sleep at night. It just doesn’t happen. I have written about it here a ton of times. He is up three to five times every night. He never needs much, maybe his paci, a bottle, his mobile cranked, just something, but it is always something. 

Well, this morning around 4 a.m., he started to stir around. I had already gotten up with him a little after midnight for a bottle, a little after that for a paci, so this time, I got up and made him a juice bottle and was ready to give it to him, but by the time I got to his crib, he was fast asleep. I went back to my room and went back to bed. I couldn’t have been asleep for more than five minutes or so when I started hearing Turner talking. He is only 7 months old, so he doesn’t actually talk, but you know what I mean. He was “ba, ba, ba and Ma, goo” and all the other sounds that baby’s his age normally make. He was even doing this thing where he sticks his tongue out and blows spit everywhere that he does all day long. I assumed he must have woken up. Its not super unusual for him to want to get up at 4 a.m. for a little 30 min play session. 

Well, when I went into Turner’s bedroom, I made my way to his crib, ready to get him out, when I realized that he was still sound asleep. He was on his belly, with his little tush in the air and his head in his hands just making all this racket. Andrew talks in his sleep almost every night. In fact, last night, while sleeping, Andrew said, “I hope the cheesecake hurries up and finishes because Turner has a game today. He is pitching.” Last night Andrew also said things like, “The sox are going to win the world series, don’t you think,” and “Knuckle ballers are the key to winning.” then he named off some “great” knuckle ballers. I am used to Andrew talking in his sleep, but for the first time, Turner was talking in his, and it was terrifying. It was like he was possessed or something. I would have bet my life that the way Turner was acting, he was awake, but nope. 

He continued to talk for a couple of minutes, until I couldn’t take it and just got him out of his crib and put him in bed with us. Which brought on more firsts, because typically I hold Turner and just go to sleep, but last night, he decided he wants to own the bed. He flipped and flopped all over the bed for a solid 30 min before falling asleep. 

 

6 thoughts on “My child may or may not be possessed.

  1. I felt that hug – just gorgeous! My 12 year old son talks AND walks in his sleep, at least 2-3 times a week. It’s pretty bizarre, usually fairly entertaining, but at times a little frightening too. He’s also a thrash-sleeper like Turner. So … good luck getting any sleep, Mama! 🙂

  2. His wacky sleep habits started later than Turner’s did, so they could fade away over time. I’m told lots of these things level out in puberty too, so we’ll see. In the meantime, I think our boys have fantastic little minds! Enjoy those hugs – I still am, thankfully! 🙂

  3. I bet that hug was the cutest and best moment of your life! Ryan “Kissed” me the other week, open mouth, tongue out and everything but it was the best kiss I have ever gotten!

Leave a Reply

