Writing for a living. And so blessed to be doing it.

I am a very busy momma. I have an amazing support network of family and friends who support me and help Andrew and I out with Turner so we are able to work 24/7. 

Like I have said 100 times before, I write for a living. I don’t mean I make money off of this blog, this is strictly for fun. And to vent to fellow mommas :). But in my real life, when I am not baby wrangling, I have two full-time jobs. For the last three or four years, I have been a full-time writer for a local newspaper. I basically am in love with it. I love the people, I love helping the community, I love making a difference. But, that doesn’t pay the bills. So on top of free-lancing here and there for another newspaper nearby, I have another full-time job as a copy writer for a local internet/we hosing company. And if you’re keeping count, yes, that is two-and-a-half jobs. 

One of the perks of being a copywriter, I get to focus on our company’s blog. I just love to write, regardless of the topic. But in the past, I haven’t really had the chance because I have been so swamped and focused on other things. But now, with this new blog, I get to write about different things, however often I want, and I am getting paid for it. It is a pretty sweet deal. 

My most recent blog post is my favorite yet. I got to me a bit more creative, and the topic I wrote about, was fun and I think inspiring. So, like all things in my life, I wanted to share it with you all. You can read it here. Let me know what you think. I work in the marketing department, so excuse the bit of dryness, but I have to keep it kind of professional.

I appreciate any and all feedback. The blog itself is a work in progress, I have a total takeover planned to vamp it up, but since I am still pretty new, I am treading lightly with my plan of domination. 🙂 

Momma side note:

Just for the sake of keeping this blog post cute and not all work/boring, here is an adorable picture of Turner I snapped this weekend. I was finally able to get a picture of his very first two teeth that he sprouted on Jan. 22! 

Image

3 thoughts on “Writing for a living. And so blessed to be doing it.

  1. I am rather jealous at your being able to write for living, though I know that all of those jobs are greatly taxing. But I am still impressed and awed. 🙂 How did you get into copywriting, if I might ask?

    • Well, my degree is English with a concentration in professional writing and a minor in Literature. In college I was torn between teaching and writing, so I wanted to be sure to cover all grounds just in case. I did my senior internship with a local newspaper, as well as wrote for my college paper, and just fell in love. So right out of college I got a job with a local newspaper. I am really fortunate that I live in a very small town. The kind of town, that when I tell people I am a copywriter, many don’t even have a clue what it is. After being at the paper for three years, and having my son, I needed more income, as well as a better source of insurance. Through the newspaper, I have made countless invaluable contacts and relationships. The marketing department at the internet company/ web hosting firm heard I was looking for a job, and told me they had been considering hiring on a copywriter. They were already familiar with what I could do based on the newspaper and some other things I had done for their company. I got really lucky and all the cards just flopped into place. So now on top of writing for the newspaper, I have time for this blog, I write my new company’s blog, and do other technical writing for them, as well as copywriting for website clients they host. So on any given day I could write content on for an accountant, then the next day be putting together things for a local candidate running for election. It is a pretty sweet deal!

      • Thank you so much! I’m a stay at home mom currently, formerly a secondary English/Language Arts teacher. I enjoy my blogs a great deal but often wonder what it would be like to write professionally. Thank you for giving me a glimpse. 🙂

Leave a Reply

