Realizations as a mother

Two things that I have learned this week.

 

1) For the first few months of Turner’s life I would brag about how as a 3 month old, he was already in 6 month old clothes. I thought it was great that my son was a big boy and that he was growing so great. It was exciting and fun. Well, this week, as I attempted to dress Turner in his brand new nine month old clothes, they did not even come close to fitting. They are super snug. He won’t even be 9  months old until the end of the month! So the next step up… 12 month clothes!

How can that be? My BABY is basically in toddler clothes? No way! So while my mother joked about how Turner looked the the Chris Farley skit, “Fat guy in a little coat,” in his new pjs last night. I refused to change him. It is no longer cute or funny that he is in bigger clothes. It is now the painful realization that he is growing up and just a few short months left of having any ounce of baby left in him! He has teeth, he stands and balances on his own, he will take a few steps before deciding he would prefer to crawl, and he is in big boy clothes. I am sure by next week he will be ready to move to college, file his taxes and introduce me to the woman that will replace me as his number one. NOT a fan.

Image

2) The second thing that I have realized this week is that any sort of television show or news story involving babies or children evoke a powerful emotion inside of me that I have never realized before. I mean, any human being with a heart would cringe at the thought of something happening to a baby, but ever since becoming a mother, I feel an all new sense of pain and worry when I hear of other people’s misfortunes, struggles, or challenges with their children. I hurt for them as if I know them and they are my own. Last Sunday on an episode of my fav show, The Walking Dead, one of the young characters placed her hand over the mouth of a baby to keep her from crying and alerting the zombies. I found myself screaming at the T.V. for her to stop and let the baby breath, and it was not even real life. I couldn’t bare to watch it. 

This morning on Good Morning America, they reported on a story of an Aunt stuck in traffic with her nephew and she happened to looking the back seat and see her nephew turning blue and non-responsive. Not only did the woman spring to action and leave her car to begin CPR, but complete strangers rushed to her side to help. Leaving their own children in the traffic jam to help someone in need. I cried while watching the story. I cried for that family and the horror they must have felt. I cried in fear of that happening to Turner, or my niece Madison. I cried in amazement by the help of total strangers. I do not think I would have had those same emotions before becoming a parent myself. 

Another story that has recently hit home with me, is the story of a young boy with a disability named Colin that told him parents that he did not want to have a birthday party because he had no friends and no one would come. First, if I could have one wish in this world, it would be to make sure that NO ONE ever feels that way. No child should ever be able to articulate those words and understanding the meaning. Colin’s mother created a Facebook page in hopes that her family and friends would help wish Colin a Happy Birthday and show him that he is loved. She got more than she ever could have imagined. People from all over the world have heard the story and have flooded the family’s P.O. Box with letters of love and support. Turner has monthly birthday parties to celebrate each milestone. So this month, instead of the usual theme, which probably would have been Valentine’s Day or spring or something, we are going to have a party at our house for Colin. That will be theme of Turner’s monthly party, and we will take pictures and then send them along with a letter to Colin to let him know that even though we do not know him and we are hundred of miles away, that we love him and care about him and want him to have the best birthday ever. 

It is amazing the way being a mother changes you. It is a beautiful thing. 

Leave a Reply

