Our first trip to the ER

We had our first ER visit. And it was a rough one. Andrew was out of town last weekend on an annual trip he and his friend take every year, so I was already on single parent duty. Andrew left last Thursday. Although Turner had had slight cough all week, I assumed it was because of the drastic weather changes, one day it is snowing with 10 inches, the next day it is sunny and 65. By Friday, his cough sounded more like a middle-aged woman who had smoked her entire life, so it was time to take him to the doctor. 

Image

My plan with a Friday afternoon doctor visit was to avoid the ER over the weekend in case he got worse. I thought I was being proactive. Well, the doctor said he had a respiratory infection and gave him some medicine. Friday was rough, but by Sunday morning, Turner seemed to be on the mend. At church Sunday morning, Turner’s Godmother told me that she could tell something was off with him. He was not coughing much, but just was not acting like himself. My older sister Ruby, (you know, the one who only scans my blog for her name) talked me into taking Turner and our niece Madison to the mall for a quick trip. Well, Turner went from seemingly ok to a big ball of disaster. 

Beginning around 8, he was overly fussy. He wouldn’t eat. He wouldn’t sleep. He wouldn’t do anything other than beg to be held. Once I got to my momma’s house, where I stayed while Andrew was out of town because I am terrified to stay alone, we tried everything imaginable to put Turner to bed, but he just kept crying. For about four hours my poor baby screamed bloody murder. I finally gave in and took him to the ER. Exactly what I was trying to avoid, a middle of the night ER run. Thank God I had been staying at my momma’s. I do not know what I would have done this weekend without her and my younger sister. They were a Godsend.

The ER trip was quick, luckily we were in and out and headed home by about 4 a.m. The doctor said Turner had a double ear infection. I just feel so awful. My poor baby, with a double ear infection. He was in visible agony. An antibiotic shot, some ear drops, a breathing treatment for his cough that all of a sudden decided to come back, and some gel to help with his teething pains, and we were sent home. 

I am so thankful and blessed to have had my family to help me all weekend long. But as great as they were, it would have been much better to have Andrew home. Just like I wrote in my blog praising single mothers, just a four day taste of what it would be like, is enough for me for a lifetime! 

Turner is still pretty sick. He is just pitiful. During the day he does great. You can hardly tell he is sick. He still plays, and despite not eating as much as usual, he is ok. But the nights is where he gets you. The nights are when I can swear he is on his death bed from the way he acts. He basically refuses to sleep in his crib, and the only way he will sleep for more than 10 minutes is to be in the bed with us. Which I really do not mind. But he stills wakes up in fits of tears, and tosses and turns and cries in his sleep. I think it is safe to say that Andrew and I are running on fumes and any day that Turner decides to feel better is fine by us!

5 thoughts on “Our first trip to the ER

  1. We’ve had 2 double ear infections and they are the worst! The good news is if he gets another one, you will recognize it early and have the doctor check for it. Hopefully if he gets another one, you can catch it early. Hope he feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

