The number one question I HATE being asked.

I work a lot. I know I do nothing but gripe about that and I am sure you are tired of reading about it. But in case you haven’t read any of my previous blogs about my job(s). I have 2 1/2. I am a full time copywriter, a full time newspaper reporter, and a freelance journalist.

Last night, a friend of ours told me I worked so much because I wanted to and I didn’t have to, because Andrew has a job. This is the second time I have heard that this week alone.

Whenever anyone asks me why I choose (like it’s a choice) to work so much I always, and I mean ALWAYS get the same question. “But why do you work so much? Doesn’t Andrew have a good job?”

I cannot stand that question. I cannot stand that assumption. Why is it status quo for people to assume that I do not need to work because my male counterpart has a good job? Yes. Andrew and a job where he makes a very good living. And yes, Andrew takes very good care of me and Turner. Our family does not have to want for anything. We are comfortable and the majority of that is due to Andrew’s income. Even if I didn’t work at all and forced Andrew to let me have my dream job of being a stay-at-home mom, we would still be comfortable.

But to me, that is not realistic. I have bills and things that have nothing to do with Andrew. I have school loans and credit card bills, and phone bills, and the desire to buy things for myself with money that I actually earned.

Why does society think that I shouldn’t have to worry about money and Andrew should just take care of everything for me?

I can go ahead and tell you that on no planet would Andrew willingly want to pay MY $600 a month college loan payment for the next 10 years. And on no planet should he have to.

I do probably work more than I should. But 1) I like to work. and 2) God forbid something happen to Andrew like a tragic bull fighting accident (which is impossible but I am trying no to be morbid and depressing here) or something like he decides to join a monastery in India… I want to know that I can take care of me and Turner without anyone’s help. And although I am working a bagillion hours a week, I have that security now.

So yes. I do not HAVE to work because I have been blessed with someone who could take care of me. But because I know nothing else but to be a hard worker and earn everything I have on my own, I do it

, SiteDart Author

Leave a Reply

