Being a mom is not the world’s toughest job. It is not a job.

Being a mother is tough. It is one of the harder things I have ever done. I mean, it is no picnic, but this recent fake job interview thing about how being a mom is the toughest job in the world, makes me want to blow my brains out. I know, I know, a little harsh. But I have been very vocal regarding my lack of sympathy for stay-at-home moms, and this is no different. 

If you do not know what I am referring to, check it out here.

First off, being a mother is not a job. It is a privilege. So in reality, we could stop right there. But for the sake of me wanting to rant, lets keep going. Second, how sexist is the post? What are dads? Chopped liver? I don’t know about you, but in my opinion dads have it way worse than moms do. 

Andrew is literally superman in my opinion. He is incredible. I couldn’t do what he does as a father or just as a person. And when you see Turner look at him, it is evident that Andrew’s role in our son’s life is just as important, if not more important, than mine.

Next, the qualifications listed are not even accurate. For one, I am sitting down right now. In fact, I sit down for probably a solid 17 hours a day. I have a desk job, so it comes with the territory. And when I am home with Turner, I am sitting on the floor playing with him, or something that does not involve strenuous work. Maybe since I am a mom to a less than one year old, my qualifications are different?

Not to mention moms get breaks. I have “mom nights out” and I am not ashamed of that. I get the whole concept that even when I am not physically with my son I am still a mom, which comes with worry and things associated with being a parent, but if we are really comparing a mom to another job, it is no different. 

Moms get vacations, and sleep, and breaks. So that is all just bologna. 

There there are the comments about pay. That is pays nothing. Well, while I stand by the fact that being a parent is in no way a job, therefore you shouldn’t get paid. For the sake of argument, the reward of love, affection, companionship and a life full of perfection because of the child you create, is worth far more than any monetary amount. 

I think the video is awful. I am a mother, I think the sun sets on my mother, and I am offended by how ridiculous the video is. 

End rant. 

3 thoughts on “Being a mom is not the world’s toughest job. It is not a job.

  1. Thank you for writing this! I agree wholeheartedly. Taking care of my son as a single mom is tough. But its not a job. I love every minute I get to spend with my newborn because I know I will be returning to work where I can’t lounge in my PJs and get up at noon anymore.

  2. I understand what you’re saying, but on the other hand I understand what the commercial is saying. I would have preferred the ad to be about parenting in general, but the company is pulling at many people’s heartstrings to buy greeting cards for Mother’s Day. I would also like to mention that I’ve been a stay at home mom for 15 years and ran an in home daycare for many years while my kids were growing up and fortunately more men are stepping up with household/childcare duties, but there are still men out there who expect their partners to do everything. You speak of moms being able to get sleep and breaks, this is true, but parents can become very sleep deprived. When my husband and I had our first child(17 yrs ago), she started sleeping through the night at 2 months, but when we had our second child, two and a half years later, he woke up every 90 minutes to nurse until his 1st birthday, and many people would probably say, well, why couldn’t his dad help with feedings if you pumped milk…..well, my husband tried for several months, but our son really didn’t like being held by his dad as a baby, and feedings were no exception, and yes I became very sleep deprived…..but I Loved every minute of it!
    I love being a mother so much that there have been many times where I didn’t get a break until my kids went to bed, and there have been times where I’ve stayed up all day and night because my children were sick. Anyone who has multiple children can tell you that it can become physically grueling taking care of 2 or more sick children at a time, now you tell me any job outside of the medical field where someone could work 24hrs without any sleep…not many! Again I understand what you’re saying, and I respect your opinion and love your honesty, but I just wanted to add to the conversation…keep up the good work with your blog and I’ll most definitely be back to read more.

Leave a Reply

