The best 1st Mother’s Day ever!

I think it is safe to say that yesterday marked the greatest Mother’s Day I have ever had. I mean… I know it was my first, but it was by far the best. I told Andrew that he really outdid himself and now it is going to be hard to beat this year’s. He really set the bar high. 

The day as a whole was fantastic, but Andrew really surprised me with how awesome his gifts were. He got me a beautiful white gold necklace with an emerald charm (mine and Turner’s birthstone) and Turner’s name and birthdate. He also got me etched glass with “I love you Turner” on it for our mantle above the fireplace. And then, best of all, he wrote me a note from Turner about Turner’s top 10 reasons why he loves that I am his mommy. All night long every time I tried to tell my family about how sweet it was, I cried like a baby. It was truly special. Image

Turner has an unusual sleep schedule Saturday night, so that threw off Sunday morning. But Andrew got up to take care of Turner and make sure I got a few minutes to sleep in. Since Turner decided to wake up at 2 a.m. for a middle of the night party, he was out cold by 8 Sunday morning, which really put a damper on our church plans. 

Andrew decided to stay at home with Turner and get him ready to meet Andrew’s mom for a Mother’s Day lunch while I went to church with my family. When I got home Andrew had cleaned the house, which was upside down from Turner’s play date with his cousins on Saturday. Walking into a house that wasn’t cluttered with toys, might have been the best Mother’s Day present of all! 

We had a nice lunch to celebrate Andrew’s Mom and then Turner and I went to Ruby’s house to celebrate my momma. I know that this is my first Mother’s Day, but for me, the most important part of the holiday will always be to celebrate my momma. My mom is my best friend and I love doing things that make her happy. This year I got her a couple of things, but her big gift was to upgrade her to a smartphone. My mom does’t use a computer, and hardly knows how to use the remote. So for her to get a smartphone… let’s just say there was a pretty extreme learning curve. 

My younger sister made up some excuse to need my mom’s phone on Sunday morning while my mom went to work. She got all my mom’s photos and things off of her phone and we got my mom’s new phone programed. When my mom got home from work we told her that her old phone’s speaker was not working. We handed her the old phone and told her to see if it would work when someone called her. 

The new phone started to ring and had the same ringtone as her old phone. My mom, looking really confused, asked “what is that?” as my little sister handed her the smartphone. We programmed my phone number to read “Happy Mother’s Day, Momma.” 

The look on my mom’s face was priceless. I wish I would have filmed it. She is so excited she can now check her facebook! She said, “I am going to be taking so many pictures now, but no selfies!” She is seriously the cutest woman on earth. 

Image

We had a great cookout and fireworks at my sisters house to finish off the day. With my niece learning to say, ‘Happy Mommy’s Day, ” It was seriously the best Mother’s Day in history. 

2 thoughts on “The best 1st Mother’s Day ever!

Leave a Reply

